“To Thine Own Self Be True” – Shakespeare

For such a long time I have thought of myself as a writer, even though not much has actually flowed from me in quite a while. I started this Blog so long ago, thinking it was time to focus on being True to who I believed I was. Yet I find myself doing anything at all to distract myself from writing. Even though today the temptation to update my “About Page” instead of writing was strong, I have resisted 🙂

From time to time I decide that I’m just “pretending” to want to write – I really don’t want it – and I put it aside once more. Round and round I’ve gone over the course of years, always winding up back here….wanting to write.

So today I am making a committment to write every day for 14 days. I feel the resistance as I write those words, but I know I must begin somewhere if I am to live Shakespeare’s words, “To Thine Own Self Be True”. How can I be True to anyone, or anything, else in my life if I’m not being True to myself.

So today I take the first step toward realizing my True Passion. I do it fear and all, because the only thing worse than finding out I’m no good at this, is never knowing if I could be.

Thank you for listening. See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

