Day 3 is the New Day 2 :)

So, yesterday I didn’t write. Today I thought, “so much for my 14 day committment!”, but what’s the point of giving myself a hard time over it. Today I simply decided to write again and not judge myself too harshly for my missed day yesterday.

I’m too used to making other people’s priorities my own. What better way to avoid what I need to be confronting in my life than putting the focus on “helping” someone else with theirs. It’s the sneakiest form of procrastination there is. “Oh….I would have written yesterday, but my daughter (my son, my friend, my whomever) needed my help”.

Basically letting myself down under the guise of being the proverbial “Good Samaritan”, allows me to feel good about myself while avoiding what needs to happen in my own life. Actually the best thing I can do for the other people in my life is get my own on track.

Doesn’t really matter how much I write, just that I do – at least for now. I’ve always found that the best way to create a new habit, is a little bit at a time. When it’s exercise I begin with 5 minutes on the treadmill. Little by little I build that up to 30 minutes. It might take a couple of weeks to get there, but get there I do.

For right now, it’s only important that I write. It doesn’t have to be long….it doesn’t have to be good….it just has to happen. One day at a time.

Thanks for listening.

Sandra L

Leave a Reply

